New Arrivals 05/26/15

New books on our shelves this week.

-

$19.20
ISBN: 9781101875896
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 26th, 2015

A spare yet eloquent, bittersweet yet inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.


$20.76
ISBN: 9780385352871
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 26th, 2015

WATER IS POWER
Paolo Bacigalupi, "New York Times" best-selling author of "The Windup Girl" and National Book Award finalist, delivers a near-future thriller that casts new light on how we live today and what may be in store for us tomorrow.


$21.56
ISBN: 9780385538053
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Doubleday Books - May 26th, 2015

Stories you'll never forget just try from literature's favorite transgressive author


$20.80
ISBN: 9780812993455
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Spiegel & Grau - May 26th, 2015

From the author of the critically beloved "Pym" ( Imagine Kurt Vonnegut having a beer with Ralph Ellison and Jules Verne. "Vanity Fair") comes a ruthlessly comic and moving tale of a man discovering a lost daughter, confronting an elusive ghost, and stumbling onto the possibility of utopia.
""
" In the ghetto there is a mansion, and it is my father's house. "


$22.36
ISBN: 9781594633317
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Riverhead Books - May 26th, 2015

Irresistibly sunny Set in the brightly lit Mediterranean amid old olive trees and sexual intrigue, music and wine and beautiful women... Propulsive. "The New York Times Book Review"
The perfect book for pretending it's already beach season. "O, The Oprah Magazine
"


$19.99
ISBN: 9780553417739
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Hogarth - May 26th, 2015

An ambitious, Baileys prize-nominateddebut set in an unforgettable place, introducing a powerful new voice in fiction


$19.95
ISBN: 9781565129283
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - June 2nd, 2015

If life is a journey--with detours, paths from which to choose, and myriad roadblocks to overcome--then Otto Ringling is most certainly on the journey of a lifetime. The first fifty or so years of Otto's journey were pretty good. He felt he had it all until one day he didn t.


$21.56
ISBN: 9780525954675
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dutton - May 26th, 2015

The star of "Parks and Recreation" and author of the "New York Times" bestseller "Paddle Your Own Canoe" returns with a second book that humorously highlights twenty-one figures from our nation's history, from her inception to present day Nick's personal pantheon of great Americans.


$20.79
ISBN: 9781250065810
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - May 26th, 2015

Shortlisted for both the "Guardian "First Book Prize and the Costa Book Award
Longlisted for the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction
A Finalist for the Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize
A Finalist for the Wellcome Book Prize
A "Financial Times "Best Book of the Year
An "Economist "Best Book of the Year


$12.76
ISBN: 9780307947536
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - May 26th, 2015

From Dave Eggers, best-selling author of "The Circle, "a tour de force of dialogue and dark humor, coursing emotions and tight control." Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? "is the formally daring, brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of his country, seeking solutions the only way he knows how.


$11.95
ISBN: 9781101872246
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - May 26th, 2015

"I want to change. I need to change. I'm gradually losing touch with myself."
"Adultery, "the provocative new novel by Paulo Coelho, best-selling author of "The Alchemist "and "Eleven Minutes," explores the question of what it means to live life fully and happily, finding the balance between life's routine and the desire for something new.


$12.80
ISBN: 9780316252652
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Mulholland Books - May 26th, 2015

One of "Time "Magazine's Ten Best Books of 2014
Selected by NPR, Slate, and Kirkus as one of the Best Books of 2014
Shortlisted for the Pacific Northwest Book Award
Three young adults grapple with the usual thirty-something problems--boredom, authenticity, an omnipotent online oligarchy--in David Shafer's darkly comic debut novel.


$13.60
ISBN: 9780143127529
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 26th, 2015

The #1 "New York Times "bestselling series finale and sequel to "A Discovery of Witches "and "Shadow of Night"


$12.80
ISBN: 9780143127444
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 26th, 2015

The acclaimed author of "The Borrower "returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield.
"Rebecca Makkai is a writer to watch, as sneakily ambitious as she is unpretentious."
-Richard Russo


$11.99
ISBN: 9781455574025
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 26th, 2015

"Bursting with wise observations." -J. Courtney Sullivan, author of "The Engagements "and "Maine"
"Gleams like a jewel." -The Philadelphia "Inquirer" "
" "Stunning. . . Unique and unforgettable." -"Glamour"


$13.60
ISBN: 9780143127536
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 26th, 2015

The "Freakonomics" of math a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our hands


$14.40
ISBN: 9780143127543
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 26th, 2015

"The arrival of a significant young nonfiction writer . . . A measured yet bravura performance." --Dwight Garner, "The New York Times"


$13.56
ISBN: 9780307946911
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Anchor Books - May 26th, 2015

A Best Book of the Year
"USA Today * Time Magazine * Washington Post * Miami Herald * Richmond Times Dispatch *""Christian Science Monitor" * "Daily Beast" * "Minneapolis Star Tribune""
"On July 8, 1879, Captain George Washington De Long and his team of thirty-two men set sail from San Francisco on the USS "Jeanette."


$15.99
ISBN: 9780143127659
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 26th, 2015

Eat your way around the world without leaving your home in this mouthwatering cultural history of 100 classic dishes.
Best Culinary Travel Book (U.K.), Gourmand World Cookbook Awards
Finalist for the Fortnum & Mason Food Book Award


$14.39
ISBN: 9780062243058
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - May 26th, 2015

The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in this gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. From Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of The Madman's Daughter trilogy.


$15.19
ISBN: 9780670012985
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - May 26th, 2015

The first fire may have been an accident, but what about the second? And the third the one that killed someone. Becca King and her friends wonder if one of the newcomers to the island is to blame. Perhaps it's Isis Martin's brother, Aidan, just home from a school for troubled teens. Or Parker Natalia, a talented musician fired by his bandmates for unknown reasons.


By Cherie Priest, Kali Ciesemier (Illustrator)
$15.19
ISBN: 9780545620857
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - May 26th, 2015

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen, & illustrated throughout with comics.


$14.39
ISBN: 9780545731614
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Scholastic Press - May 26th, 2015

From Hans Christian Anderson Award winner and three-time Caldecott Honoree Peter Sis comes a delectable picture book that is as breezy, sweet and irresistible as ice cream in summer.
Dear Grandpa,
Summer is going well.
I am very busy. But don't worry, I am not forgetting about school I read every day. I practice my math facts. And I am even studying world history


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS