New Arrivals 06/30/15

New books on our shelves this week.

$22.40
ISBN: 9781451659160
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 30th, 2015

#1 Indie Next Pick for July 2015
"Absorbing...Winning...The many layers in "The Oregon Trail" are linked by Mr. Buck's voice, which is alert and unpretentious in a manner that put me in mind of Bill Bryson's comic tone in "A Walk in the Woods."" --Dwight Garner, "The New York Times"


$55.99
ISBN: 9783836542753
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Taschen - July 5th, 2015

Compulsive viewing: How the TV series became a 21st-century addiction Their names are Walter White, Birgitte Nyborg and Don Draper and they arethe stars of a cultural revolution.


$12.79
ISBN: 9780062335982
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Perennial - June 30th, 2015

What do you do in your teenage years when you realize what your parents taught you wasn't enough? You must go out and find books and poetry and pop songs and bad heroes and build yourself. It's 1990.


$13.60
ISBN: 9780553418866
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Hogarth - June 30th, 2015

A monumental, genre-defying novel that David Mitchell calls "Michel Faber's second masterpiece," "The Book of Strange New Things" is a masterwork from a writer in full command of his many talents.


$12.79
ISBN: 9780062365590
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Paperbacks - June 30th, 2015

Douglas Petersen may be mild mannered, but behind his reserve lies a sense of humor that, against all odds, seduces beautiful Connie into a second date . . . and eventually into marriage. Now, almost three decades after their relationship first blossomed in London, they live more or less happily in the suburbs with their moody seventeen-year-old son, Albie.


$12.79
ISBN: 9780062220516
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Perennial - June 30th, 2015

By July 1914, the ties between Kezia Marchant and Thea Brissenden, friends since girlhood, have become strained by Thea's passionate embrace of women's suffrage and by the imminent marriage of Kezia to Thea's brother, Tom, who runs the family farm.


By Bohumil Hrabal, James Naughton (Translator), Joshua Cohen (Introduction by)
$13.56
ISBN: 9781590178409
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: New York Review of Books - June 30th, 2015

"The Little Town Where Time Stood Still" contains two linked narratives by the incomparable Bohumil Hrabal, whom Milan Kundera has described as Czechoslovakia's greatest writer. Cutting It Short is set before World War II in a small country town, and it relates the scandalizing escapades of Mary ka, the flamboyant wife of Francin, who manages the local brewery. Mary ka drinks.


$12.79
ISBN: 9781250047465
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 30th, 2015

Lydia Netzer, the award-winning author of "Shine Shine Shine," weaves a mind-bending, heart-shattering love story that asks, "Can true love exist if it's been planned from birth?"


$13.56
ISBN: 9780393351088
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 13th, 2015

Everyone agrees that a great teacher can have an enormous impact. Yet we still don't know what, precisely, makes a teacher great. Is it a matter of natural-born charisma? Or does exceptional teaching require something more?


$14.36
ISBN: 9780393351293
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 6th, 2015

America's founders intended to liberate us not just from one king but from the ghostly tyranny of supernatural religion. Drawing deeply on the study of European philosophy, Matthew Stewart brilliantly tracks the ancient, pagan, and continental ideas from which America's revolutionaries drew their inspiration.


$15.20
ISBN: 9780143127451
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - June 30th, 2015

A bright, absorbing account of a short period in history that still resounds today. "Kirkus Reviews"


By Mandy Smith, Nicola Stow (Contribution by)
$12.80
ISBN: 9780147515988
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Plume Books - June 30th, 2015

In the tradition of Waiter Rant, a saucy look at life behind the beverage cart
Ever since "Coffee, Tea or Me?"was first published in the swinging sixties, the reading public has been enamored with stewardesses. In "Cabin Fever," former Virgin Atlantic flight attendant Mandy Smith updates the genre, sharing the good, the bad, and the downright naughty about life in the air.


$10.39
ISBN: 9780545621267
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - June 30th, 2015

Award-winning author/illustrator Jeffrey Brown returns for the third installation of the NY Times Bestseller Star Wars: Jedi Academy


$15.19
ISBN: 9781481415576
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 30th, 2015

In the sequel to the New York Times "bestselling memoir Three Little Words," Ashley Rhodes-Courter expands on life beyond the foster care system, the joys and heartbreak with a family she's created, and her efforts to make peace with her past.


$7.99
ISBN: 9780062003287
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Teen - June 30th, 2015

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes The Vanishing Season, at once haunting and lovely, with a gut-wrenching final twist that will keep readers on their toes. It's perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Girls started vanishing in the fall.


$14.39
ISBN: 9780545637084
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 30th, 2015

Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS