New Arrivals 9/13/16

New books on our shelves this week:

Nutshell Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780385542074
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Nan A. Talese - September 13th, 2016

New from the bestselling author of Atonement and The Children Act


Intimations: Stories Cover Image
$20.79
ISBN: 9780062388704
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper - September 13th, 2016

From the celebrated author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine, a thought-provoking, often unsettling story collection that consists, broadly, of narrative diagrams of the three main stages in a human life: birth, life, and death.


Darktown Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781501133862
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Atria / 37 Ink - September 13th, 2016

The award-winning author of The Last Town on Earth delivers a riveting and elegant police procedural set in 1948 Atlanta, exploring a murder, corrupt police, and strained race relations that feels ripped from today's headlines.


Little Nothing Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780399167928
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Blue Rider Press - September 13th, 2016

A LitHub Book You Should Read This September
One ofThe Millions' "Most Anticipated" for 2016


Startalk: Everything You Ever Need to Know about Space Travel, Sci-Fi, the Human Race, the Universe, and Beyond Cover Image
By Neil Degrasse Tyson (Editor), Jeffrey Simons (Editor), Charles Liu (Editor)
$23.99
ISBN: 9781426217272
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: National Geographic Society - September 13th, 2016

This beautifully illustrated companion to celebrated scientist Neil deGrasse Tyson's popular podcast and National Geographic Channel TV show is an eye-opening journey for anyone curious about the complexities of our universe.


The Year of Voting Dangerously: The Derangement of American Politics Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781455539260
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Twelve - September 13th, 2016

Maureen Dowd's incendiary takes and takedowns from 2016--the most bizarre, disruptive and divisive Presidential race in modern history.


Between Breaths: A Memoir of Panic and Addiction Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9781455559633
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - September 13th, 2016

From the moment she uttered the brave and honest words, "I am an alcoholic," to interviewer George Stephanopoulos, Elizabeth Vargas began writing her story, as her experiences were still raw.


In Such Good Company: Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781101904657
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Archetype - September 13th, 2016

Comedy legend Carol Burnett tells the hilarious behind-the-scenes story of her iconic weekly variety series, The Carol Burnett Show.
Who but Carol Burnett herself has the timing, talent, and wit to pull back the curtain on the Emmy-Award winning show that made television history for eleven glorious seasons?


Fates and Furies Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781594634482
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Riverhead Books - September 13th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A FINALIST FOR THE 2015 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD
NPR MORNING EDITION BOOK CLUB PICK
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: THE WASHINGTON POST, NPR, TIME, THE SEATTLE TIMES, MINNEAPOLIS STAR-TRIBUNE, SLATE, LIBRARY JOURNAL, KIRKUS, AND MANY MORE


The Last Mile Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9781455586462
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - September 13th, 2016

In his #1 New York Times bestseller Memory Man, David Baldacci introduced the extraordinary detective Amos Decker-the man who can forget nothing. Now, Decker returns in a spectacular new thriller . . .
THE LAST MILE


Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?: A Memoir Cover Image
$15.20
ISBN: 9781632861016
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 13th, 2016

#1 New York Times Bestseller
2014 National Book Award Finalist
Winner of the inaugural 2014 Kirkus Prize in nonfiction
Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award
Winner of the 2014 Books for a Better Life Award
Winner of the 2015 Reuben Award from National Cartoonists Society


A Common Struggle: A Personal Journey Through the Past and Future of Mental Illness and Addiction Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780399185717
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Blue Rider Press - September 13th, 2016

**A New York Times Bestseller**
**Now with an updated resource guide and a national platform for mental illness**


Superforecasting: The Art and Science of Prediction Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780804136716
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Broadway Books - September 13th, 2016

ANew York Times Bestseller
AnEconomistBest Book of 2015
"The most important book on decision making since Daniel Kahneman'sThinking, Fast and Slow."
Jason Zweig, TheWall Street Journal


The Magic of Math: Solving for X and Figuring Out Why Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9780465096213
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Basic Books - September 6th, 2016

A New York Times Bestseller
Arthur Benjamin . . . joyfully shows you how to make nature's numbers dance.
Bill Nye


Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781476777122
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 13th, 2016

The instant New York Times bestseller from the creator of Grey's Anatomy and Scandal and executive producer of How to Get Away With Murder shares how saying YES changed her life. As fun to read as Rhimes's TV series are to watch (Los Angeles Times).


Tragic Encounters: A People's History of Native Americans Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781619028241
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Counterpoint LLC - October 11th, 2016

Page Smith was one of America's greatest historians. After studying with Samuel Eliot Morison at Harvard, Smith went on to a distinguished academic career that culminated with him being the founding Provost of Cowell College, the first college of the new campus of the University of California at Santa Cruz.


Ghosts Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9780545540629
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahia de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahia de la Luna.


The Bill the Cat Story: A Bloom County Epic Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399546624
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Philomel Books - September 13th, 2016

The Pulitzer Prize-winning creator of the "Bloom County" comic strip is back To help celebrate, here is the first ever Bloom County picture book, featuring fan-favorite Bill the Cat (Ack ack )


The Reader Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780399176777
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 13th, 2016

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone


Last Man Out Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780399172793
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Philomel Books - September 13th, 2016

From the #1bestselling author ofHeat, Travel Teamand Fantasy Leaguecomesa story of heroes, family, the thrills of skateboarding, and football.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS