New Arrivals 1/16/18

Winter Cover Image
$20.76
ISBN: 9781101870754
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Pantheon Books - January 9th, 2018

The second novel in the Man Booker Prize-nominated author's Seasonal cycle; the much-anticipated follow-up to Autumn (a New York Times, Washington Post, NPR, Financial Times, The Guardian, Southern Living, and Kirkus Reviews best book of the year).


The Girls in the Picture Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781101886809
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Delacorte Press - January 16th, 2018

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator's Wife, a fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood's earliest female legends--screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford


It's Even Worse Than You Think: What the Trump Administration Is Doing to America Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781501174162
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 16th, 2018

The Trump administration is remaking the government. It's Even Worse Than You Think: What the Trump Administration Is Doing to America tells readers exactly how it is making America worse again.


The Square and the Tower: Networks and Power, from the Freemasons to Facebook Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780735222915
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Press - January 16th, 2018

A brilliant recasting of the turning points in world history, including the one we're living through, as a collision between old power hierarchies and new social networks.

"Captivating and compelling."--The New York Times


A Horse Walks Into a Bar Cover Image
By David Grossman, Jessica Cohen (Translator)
$12.76
ISBN: 9781101973493
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - January 16th, 2018

WINNER OF THE 2017 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE


The Last Days of New Paris Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524797485
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Del Rey Books - January 16th, 2018

A thriller of war that never was--of survival in an impossible city--of surreal cataclysm. In The Last Days of New Paris, China Mieville entwines true historical events and people with his daring, uniquely imaginative brand of fiction, reconfiguring history and art into something new.

"Beauty will be convulsive. . . ."


The One Inside Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781101974384
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - January 16th, 2018

This searing, extraordinarily evocative narrative opens with a man in his house at dawn, surrounded by aspens, coyotes cackling in the distance as he quietly navigates the distance between present and past.


How to See: Looking, Talking, and Thinking about Art Cover Image
$13.56
ISBN: 9780393354966
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 16th, 2018

How does art work? How does it move us, inform us, challenge us? Internationally renowned painter David Salle's incisive essay collection illuminates the work of many of the most influential artists of the twentieth century.


Love, Hate and Other Filters Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781616958473
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Soho Teen - January 16th, 2018

In this unforgettable debut novel, an Indian-American Muslim teen copes with Islamophobia, cultural divides among peers and parents, and a reality she can neither explain nor escape.


I Am Harriet Tubman Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780735228719
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dial Books - January 16th, 2018

Harriet Tubman's heroic and pivotal role in the fight against slavery is the subject of the fourteenth picture book in this New York Times bestselling biography series


New Arrivals 1/9/18

 

The Immortalists Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780735213180
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 9th, 2018

"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt." --People Magazine (Book of the Week)

"A sprawling, enchanting family saga." --Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."


Staff Pick Logo
The Chalk Man Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9781524760984
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - January 9th, 2018

"I haven't had a sleepless night due to a book for a long time. The Chalk Man changed that."
--Fiona Barton, New York Times bestselling author of The Widow


When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780735210622
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Riverhead Books - January 9th, 2018

"Brims with a surprising amount of insight and practical advice." --The Wall Street Journal

Daniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks the scientific secrets to good timing to help you flourish at work, at school, and at home.


Tell Me More: Stories about the 12 Hardest Things I'm Learning to Say Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780399588372
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - January 9th, 2018

A story-driven collection of essays on the twelve powerful phrases we use to sustain our relationships, from the New York Times bestselling author of Glitter and Glue and The Middle Place

"Kelly Corrigan takes on all the big, difficult questions here, with great warmth and courage."--Glennon Doyle


Ill Will Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780345476050
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ballantine Books - January 9th, 2018

NATIONAL BESTSELLER - Two sensational unsolved crimes--one in the past, another in the present--are linked by one man's memory and self-deception in this chilling novel of literary suspense from National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon.

Includes an exclusive conversation between Dan Chaon and Lynda Barry


Staff Pick Logo
Swimming Lessons Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781941040935
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Tin House Books - January 9th, 2018

Disenchanted by the life in which she's found herself, Ingrid Coleman writes letters to her husband, Gil, about the truth of their passionate and troubled marriage. She hides them, unread, in the thousands of books Gil has collected over the years.


Bent: How Yoga Saved My Ass Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781941529652
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Parallax Press - January 9th, 2018

"It was nothing at first. Just a little twitch. My left ring finger was twitching, slowly, almost languidly, the way fishing line does when you've hooked something without any strength. Like a baby perch. I hadn't even gotten out of bed yet.

My first thought: Stress?

(Nope, think again)"


No Way But This: In Search of Paul Robeson Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781925321852
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Scribe Us - January 9th, 2018

Film star. Singer. Athlete. Icon. Agitator. Martyr.

Paul Robeson was a brilliant student and champion athlete who abandoned a career in law to find worldwide fame as a performer and activist. He was undoubtedly the most famous African American of his time, perhaps, in the words of both Time magazine and W.E.B Dubois, "the best known American on earth."


Nice Try, Jane Sinner Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780544867857
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Clarion Books - January 9th, 2018

"Jane Sinner snarked her way into my heart, and she's never leaving. Prepare to fall hard for this hilarious, heartfelt gem of a book."--Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda


The Terrible Two Go Wild Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jory John, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$11.16
ISBN: 9781419721854
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Amulet Books - January 9th, 2018

Everyone's favorite pranksters are at it again School's out, and Miles and Niles are running wild in the woods outside town: climbing trees, exploring caves, and, yes, pranking. But these leafy, lazy days of mischief darken when bully Josh Barkin and his cadets from a nearby kids' boot camp discover the merrymakers--and vow to destroy them.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS