New Arrivals 8/15/17

A Stranger in the House Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780735221123
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - August 15th, 2017

In this neighborhood, danger lies close to home. A domestic thriller packed full of secrets, and a twisty story that never stops--from the bestselling author of The Couple Next Door


Home Fire Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780735217683
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Riverhead Books - August 15th, 2017

"Ingenious... Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I've read in a novel this century." --The New York Times

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER PRIZE

The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family driven to pit love against loyalty, with devastating consequences


Approaching the Buddhist Path Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9781614294412
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Wisdom Publications - August 15th, 2017

The first volume in a multi-volume collection presenting the Dalai Lama's comprehensive explanation of the Buddhist path.

His Holiness the Dalai Lama has been publicly teaching Buddhism for decades. This series collects his presentations of every step of the path to enlightenment, compiled and coauthored by one of his chief Western disciples, the American nun Thubten Chodron.


Poetry Will Save Your Life: A Memoir Cover Image
$19.20
ISBN: 9781451693201
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Atria Books - August 15th, 2017

An unconventional and inventive coming-of-age memoir organized around forty-three remarkable poems by poets such as Robert Frost, Emily Dickinson, Wallace Stevens and Sylvia Plath, from a critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author and poet.


Karolina's Twins Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9781250089045
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 15th, 2017

In a Lonely Place Cover Image
By Dorothy B. Hughes, Megan Abbott (Afterword by)
$11.96
ISBN: 9781681371474
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: New York Review of Books - August 15th, 2017

A classic California noir with a feminist twist, this prescient 1947 novel exposed misogyny in post-World War II American society, making it far ahead of its time.


The Lesser Bohemians Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781101903506
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Hogarth Press - August 15th, 2017

Shortlisted for the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction
Shortlisted for the 2016 Goldsmiths Prize
Shortlisted for the 2016 Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards Eason Novel of the Year

The breathtaking new novel from Eimear McBride, about an extraordinary, all-consuming love affair


Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781568585987
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Nation Books - August 15th, 2017


Some Americans cling desperately to the myth that we are living in a post-racial society, that the election of the first black president spelled the doom of racism. In fact, racist thought is alive and well in America--more sophisticated and more insidious than ever. And as award-winning historian Ibram X.


A Map for Wrecked Girls Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780735228115
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dial Books - August 15th, 2017

In this twisting tale of loyalty, betrayal, and love, two sisters must survive the wilds, if they can first survive each other--for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gone Girl.


The Losers Club Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780399557552
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2017

The beloved New York Times bestselling author of the modern classic Frindle celebrates books and the joy of reading with a new school story to love

Sixth grader Alec can't put a good book down.


Creepy Pair of Underwear! Cover Image
By Aaron Reynolds, Peter Brown (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9781442402980
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 15th, 2017

From the celebrated team behind Creepy Carrots , Aaron Reynolds and Caldecott Honor winner Peter Brown, comes a hilarious (and just a little creepy) story of a brave rabbit and a very weird pair of underwear.


The X-Files: Earth Children Are Weird: A Picture Book Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781594749797
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Quirk Books - August 15th, 2017

One the most beloved TV shows of all time is now a sweet, silly, sci-fi bedtime story In The X Files: Earth Children Are Weird, best pals Dana (Scully) and Fox (Mulder) have pitched a tent in the backyard for a sleepover. But the night is full of strange sounds, lights, and shadows. Surely there's a rational, scientific explanation for everything . . . or is there?


New Arrivals 8/8/17

Red Light Run: Linked Stories Cover Image
$19.20
ISBN: 9781501147357
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Scribner Book Company - August 8th, 2017

When two cars collide at an intersection in a leafy Chicago suburb, Hartley Nolan is not the person police expect to find behind the wheel. After all, he barely drinks; everyone knows it's his wife who's the alcoholic. But the bigger question on people's minds is what brought Sonia Senn, dead at the scene, back to her hometown in such a hurry that night?


The Talented Ribkins Cover Image
$20.79
ISBN: 9781612196367
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Melville House Publishing - August 8th, 2017

"For sheer reading pleasure Ladee Hubbard's original and wildly inventive novel is in a class by itself." --Toni Morrison

"The Talented Ribkins is a charming and delightful debut novel with a profound heart, and Ladee Hubbard's voice is a welcome original." --Mary Gaitskill


Chicago Renaissance: Literature and Art in the Midwest Metropolis Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780300203684
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Yale University Press - August 22nd, 2017

A fascinating history of Chicago's innovative and invaluable contributions to American literature and art from the late nineteenth to the mid-twentieth century


Science in the Soul: Selected Writings of a Passionate Rationalist Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780399592249
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - August 8th, 2017

The legendary biologist and bestselling author mounts a timely and passionate defense of science and clear thinking with this career-spanning collection of essays, including twenty pieces published in the United States for the first time.


The Trespasser Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780143110385
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - August 8th, 2017

New York Times bestselling author Tana French is "required reading for anyone who appreciates tough, unflinching intelligence and ingenious plotting" (The New York Times). She "inspires cultic devotion in readers" (The New Yorker) and is "the most important crime novelist to emerge in the past 10 years" (Washington Post).


The Story of Kullervo Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780544947245
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Mariner Books - August 8th, 2017

"Shows how Finnish mythology and folk tales were instrumental to how Tolkien created his own legendarium."--Boston Globe

Kullervo, son of Kalervo, is perhaps the darkest and most tragic of all J.R.R. Tolkien's characters. "Hapless Kullervo," as Tolkien called him, is a luckless orphan boy with supernatural powers and a tragic destiny.


The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781501139895
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Gallery Books - August 8th, 2017

#1 New York Times Bestseller

"Amy Schumer's book will make you love her even more. For a comedian of unbridled (and generally hilarious) causticity, Schumer has written a probing, confessional, unguarded, and, yes, majorly humanizing non-memoir, a book that trades less on sarcasm, and more on emotional resonance." --Vogue


At the Existentialist Cafe: Freedom, Being, and Apricot Cocktails with Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Albert Camus, Martin Heidegger, Mauri Cover Image
$14.36
ISBN: 9781590518892
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Other Press (NY) - August 8th, 2017

Named one of the Ten Best Books of 2016 by the New York Times, a spirited account of a major intellectual movement of the twentieth century and the revolutionary thinkers who came to shape it, by the best-selling author of How to Live Sarah Bakewell.


Spellbook of the Lost and Found Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780525429494
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Kathy Dawson Books - August 8th, 2017

The highly anticipated new book from the acclaimed author of The Accident Season is a gorgeous, twisty story about things gone missing, things returned from the past, and a group of teenagers, connected in ways they could never have imagined.


The Dire King: A Jackaby Novel Cover Image
$14.36
ISBN: 9781616206703
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 22nd, 2017

The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times best-selling series the Chicago Tribune called "Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer" sends the eccentric detective and his indispensable assistant into the heart of a war between magical worlds.


Here Comes Teacher Cat Cover Image
By Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda (Illustrator)
$13.59
ISBN: 9780399539053
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dial Books - August 8th, 2017

It's back to school for the New York Times bestselling Cat when he steps in as a substitute teacher.


Tails Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781328886859
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Houghton Mifflin - August 1st, 2017

Tails are irresistible to toddlers, and in Matthew Van Fleet's sturdy touch-and-feel board book, preschool-age pokers and prodders can finally tug to their heart's content.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS