The Gallery (Paperback)

The Gallery Cover Image
List Price: $7.99
Our Price: $6.39
(Save: $1.60 20%)
In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
3 on hand, as of Jun 26 3:45pm

Description


A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household--specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there's more to the story--and that the paintings in the Sewell's gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what's really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author's note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

* "This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics." --Booklist, starred review

About the Author


Laura Marx Fitzgerald studied art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities. Her first book for young readers, Under the Egg, won the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association's Middle Grade Book of the Year award. Laura lives in Montclair, New Jersey.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780142427705
ISBN-10: 0142427705
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: June 6th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English