New Arrivals 1/15/19

The Dreamers: A Novel Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780812994162
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - January 15th, 2019

An ordinary town is transformed by a mysterious illness that triggers perpetual sleep in this mesmerizing novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Age of Miracles.

“This book is stunning.”—Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven


Annelies: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780399162589
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Viking - January 15th, 2019

A powerful and deeply humane new novel that asks the question: What if Anne Frank survived the Holocaust?


Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781524732714
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - January 15th, 2019

“A gripping genetic detective story, and a meditation on the meaning of parenthood and family.” —Jennifer Egan, author of Manhattan Beach 
 


The Age of Surveillance Capitalism: The Fight for a Human Future at the New Frontier of Power Cover Image
$30.40
ISBN: 9781610395694
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: PublicAffairs - January 15th, 2019

The challenges to humanity posed by the digital future, the first detailed examination of the unprecedented form of power called "surveillance capitalism," and the quest by powerful corporations to predict and control our behavior.


Love and Ruin: A Novel Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9781101967393
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ballantine Books - January 15th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The bestselling author of The Paris Wife brings to life the story of Martha Gellhorn—a fiercely independent, ambitious woman ahead of her time, who would become one of the greatest war correspondents of the twentieth century.


Staff Pick Logo
The Orphan of Salt Winds Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781947793224
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Tin House Books - January 15th, 2019

England, 1939. Ten-year-old Virginia Wrathmell arrives at Salt Winds, a secluded house on the edge of a marsh, to meet her adoptive parents--practical, dependable Clem and glamorous, mercurial Lorna. The marsh, with its deceptive tides, is a beautiful but threatening place.


Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780143111382
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - January 15th, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018
ONE OF THE ECONOMIST'S BOOKS OF THE YEAR

"My new favorite book of all time." --Bill Gates


No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters Cover Image
By Ursula K. Le Guin, Karen Joy Fowler (Introduction by)
$11.99
ISBN: 9781328507976
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Mariner Books - January 15th, 2019

Ursula K. Le Guin on the absurdity of denying your age: “If I’m ninety and believe I’m forty-five, I’m headed for a very bad time trying to get out of the bathtub.”

On cultural perceptions of fantasy: “The direction of escape is toward freedom.


Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399547614
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What


Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399547614
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What


96 Words for Love Cover Image
By Rachel Roy, Ava Dash, James Patterson (Foreword by)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780316477789
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: jimmy patterson - January 15th, 2019

James Patterson Presents a modern retelling of a classic Indian legend, 96 Words for Love is a touching coming-of-age story that reads like Eat, Pray, Love for teens.

Ever since her acceptance to UCLA, 17-year-old Raya Liston has been quietly freaking out. She feels simultaneously lost and trapped by a future already mapped out for her.


Dragon Pearl Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781368013352
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 15th, 2019

Rick Riordan Presents Yoon Ha Lee's space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you'd never know it by looking at her. To keep the family safe, Min's mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting. They must appear human at all times.


The Whispers Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780525517498
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

A middle grade debut that's a heartrending coming-of-age tale, perfect for fans of Bridge to Terabithia and Counting By 7s.


New Arrivals 1/8/19

An Orchestra of Minorities Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780316412391
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Little, Brown and Company - January 8th, 2019

A heart-breaking story about a Nigerian poultry farmer who sacrifices everything to win the woman he loves, by Man Booker Finalist and author of The Fishermen, Chigozie Obioma.


The Paragon Hotel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780735210752
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 8th, 2019

The new and exciting historical thriller by Lyndsay Faye, author of Edgar-nominated Jane Steele and Gods of Gotham, which follows Alice "Nobody" from Prohibition-era Harlem to Portland's the Paragon Hotel.


You Know You Want This:
$19.99
ISBN: 9781982101633
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - January 15th, 2019

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2019 BY VOGUE, HUFFPOST, ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, PUREWOW, REFINERY29, NYLON, MARIE CLAIRE, BUSTLE, AND KIRKUS REVIEWS!


Trailblazer: A Pioneering Journalist's Fight to Make the Media Look More Like America Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9781546083443
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Center Street - January 8th, 2019



Dorothy Butler Gilliam, whose 50-year-career as a journalist put her in the forefront of the fight for social justice, offers a comprehensive view of racial relations and the media in the U.S.


Staff Pick Logo
The Power Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780316547604
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Back Bay Books - January 8th, 2019

What would happen if women suddenly possessed a fierce new power?

"The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post

*WINNER OF THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION*


Macbeth: William Shakespeare's Macbeth Retold: A Novel (Hogarth Shakespeare) Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780553419078
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Hogarth - January 8th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018

Shakespeare’s dark and tragic play retold in a heart-pounding New York Times bestselling thriller from the author of The Snowman and The Thirst.

 


Anatomy of a Miracle: A Novel* Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780553447606
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Hogarth - January 8th, 2019

“Funny, bighearted...Miles specializes in giving fully rounded humanity to characters who might elsewhere be treated as stock figures...pitch-perfect.”
— New York Times Book Review

"Miles is a writer so virtuosic that readers will feel themselves becoming better, more observant people from reading him."


Meditation for Fidgety Skeptics: A 10% Happier How-to Book Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780399588969
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Spiegel & Grau - December 31st, 2018

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF 10% HAPPIER

Too busy to meditate? Can’t turn off your brain? Curious about mindfulness but more comfortable in the gym? This book is for you.

You’ll also get access to guided audio meditations on the 10% Happier app, to jumpstart your practice from day one.


We Are Displaced: My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780316523646
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

After her father was murdered, María escaped in the middle of the night with her mother.

Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before landing in America. Her sister, Sabreen, survived a harrowing journey to Italy.


Black Panther The Young Prince Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9781368008495
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Marvel Press - January 8th, 2019

Black Panther. Ruler of Wakanda. Avenger.

This is his destiny. But right now, he's simply T'Challa-the young prince.


Max and the Midknights Cover Image
$11.19
ISBN: 9781101931080
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

Join Max's quest to become a knight in this laugh-filled adventure from the New York Times bestselling author of the Big Nate series!


"Max is epic fun!" --JEFF KINNEY, New York Times bestselling author of the DIARY OF A WIMPY KID series


My Heart Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780735227934
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dial Books - January 8th, 2019

From the author-illustrator of The Book of Mistakes comes a gorgeous picture book about caring for your own heart and living with kindness and empathy.

My heart is a window. My heart is a slide. My heart can be closed...or opened up wide.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS