New Arrivals 9/17/19

Red at the Bone: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780525535270
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Riverhead Books - September 17th, 2019

"Gorgeous, moving…A story of love—romantic and familial—and alienation, grief and triumph, disaster and survival." —Nylon
 


What Rose Forgot: A Novel Cover Image
$23.19
ISBN: 9781250207135
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Minotaur Books - September 17th, 2019

* POPSUGAR's "New Thrillers That Should Be on Your Radar This Year"
* Women.com's "12 New September Books Worth Canceling Plans For"

In New York Times bestselling author Nevada Barr's gripping standalone, a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she's trapped in her worst nightmare


Permanent Record Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781250237231
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Metropolitan Books - September 17th, 2019

Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down.


We Are the Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374280000
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 17th, 2019

Some people reject the fact, overwhelmingly supported by scientists, that our planet is warming because of human activity. But do those of us who accept the reality of human-caused climate change truly believe it? If we did, surely we would be roused to act on what we know.


Staff Pick Badge
A Key to Treehouse Living Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781947793590
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Tin House Books - September 18th, 2019

My Struggle: Book 6 Cover Image
By Karl Ove Knausgaard, Don Bartlett (Translated by), Martin Aitken (Translated by)
$17.60
ISBN: 9780374534196
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 17th, 2019

The final installment in the long-awaited, internationally celebrated My Struggle series.


The Winter Soldier Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780316477598
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Back Bay Books - September 17th, 2019

A Washington Post Best Book of 2018
A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2018
An NPR Great Read of 2018

National Bestseller


Looking for Lorraine: The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry Cover Image
$14.36
ISBN: 9780807039830
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Beacon Press - September 17th, 2019

Winner of the 2019 PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography

Winner of the Lambda Literary Award for LGBTQ Nonfiction

Winner of the Shilts-Grahn Triangle Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

A New York Times Notable Book of 2018


Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

A gutsy, queer coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, Rainbow Rowell, and Elizabeth Acevedo.


Guts Cover Image
$10.39
ISBN: 9780545852500
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Graphix - September 17th, 2019

A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, Sisters, Drama, and Ghosts!


The Fate of Fausto: A Painted Fable Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593115015
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Philomel Books - September 17th, 2019

A quirky, cautionary tale from beloved New York Times bestselling picture book creator Oliver Jeffers!

There was once a man who believed he owned everything and set out to survey what was his.


The Tale of the Tiger Slippers Cover Image
By Jan Brett (Illustrator), Jan Brett
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399170744
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

Jan Brett reimagines a powerful Middle Eastern folk tale that celebrates hard work and appreciating your roots.


New Arrivals 9/10/19

The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale Cover Image
$23.16
ISBN: 9780385543781
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Nan A. Talese - September 10th, 2019

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE

Margaret Atwood's dystopian masterpiece, The Handmaid's Tale, has become a modern classic—and now she brings the iconic story to a dramatic conclusion in this riveting sequel.


Akin Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780316491990
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

The "soul stirring" masterpiece by the New York Times bestselling author of Room: A retired professor's life is thrown into chaos when he takes his great-nephew to the French Riviera (O Magazine)


Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780316478526
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

Malcolm Gladwell, host of the podcast Revisionist History and author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Outliers, offers a powerful examination of our interactions with strangers--and why they often go wrong.


Poisoner in Chief: Sidney Gottlieb and the CIA Search for Mind Control Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781250140432
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - September 10th, 2019

The bestselling author of All the Shah’s Men and The Brothers tells the astonishing story of the man who oversaw the CIA’s secret drug and mind-control experiments of the 1950s and ’60s.


The O. Henry Prize Stories 100th Anniversary Edition (2019) (The O. Henry Prize Collection) Cover Image
By Laura Furman (Editor)
$12.76
ISBN: 9780525565536
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Anchor - September 10th, 2019

Now celebrating its centenary, this prestigious annual anthology gathers the twenty best new short stories published in the previous year. An Anchor Books Original.


The Man Who Came Uptown Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9780316479837
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Mulholland Books - September 10th, 2019


In bestselling and Emmy-nominated writer George Pelecanos' "taut and suspenseful" new novel, an ex-offender must choose between the man who got him out and the woman who showed him another path (Booklist, Starred Review)


Palaces for the People: How Social Infrastructure Can Help Fight Inequality, Polarization, and the  Decline of Civic Life Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781524761172
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Broadway Books - September 10th, 2019

“A comprehensive, entertaining, and compelling argument for how rebuilding social infrastructure can help heal divisions in our society and move us forward.”—Jon Stewart

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • “Engaging.”—Mayor Pete Buttigieg, The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice)


The Art of Invisibility: The World's Most Famous Hacker Teaches You How to Be Safe in the Age of Big Brother and Big Data Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780316380522
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Back Bay Books - September 10th, 2019

Real-world advice on how to be invisible online from "the FBI's most-wanted hacker" (Wired)


Your every step online is being tracked and stored, and your identity easily stolen. Big companies and big governments want to know and exploit what you do, and privacy is a luxury few can afford or understand.


Frankly in Love Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781984812209
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

"I loved, loved, LOVED this book." —Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

"Big-hearted, honest, hilarious, and achingly romantic." —Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at The End

 


Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper #4) Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780316485548
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: jimmy patterson - September 10th, 2019


In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began with Stalking Jack the Ripper, Audrey Rose and Thomas are on the hunt for the depraved, elusive killer known as the White City Devil. A deadly game of cat-and-mouse has them fighting to stay one step ahead of the brilliant serial killer---or see their fateful romance cut short by unspeakable tragedy.


Hey Grandude! Cover Image
By Paul McCartney, Kathryn Durst (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780525648673
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 5th, 2019

From Paul McCartney--an action-packed picture-book adventure celebrating the fun that grandparents and grandkids can get up to.

See the compass needle spin, let the magic fun begin!


Prairie Boy: Frank Lloyd Wright Turns the Heartland into a Home Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781629794402
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Calkins Creek - September 10th, 2019

Frank Lloyd Wright, a young boy from the prairie, becomes America's first world-famous architect in this inspirational nonfiction picture book introducing organic architecture -- a style he created based on the relationship between buildings and the natural world -- which transformed the American home.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS