New Arrivals 3/26/19

kaddish.com: A novel Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781524732752
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - March 26th, 2019

The celebrated Pulitzer finalist and prize-winning author of Dinner at the Center of the Earth and What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank delivers his best work yet, a streamlined comic masterpiece about a son’s failure to say Kaddish for his father.


The Other Americans: A Novel Cover Image
$20.76
ISBN: 9781524747145
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Pantheon - March 26th, 2019

From the Pulitzer Prize finalist and author of The Moor’s Account, here is a timely and powerful novel about the suspicious death of a Moroccan immigrant—at once a family saga, a murder mystery, and a love story, informed by the treacherous fault lines of American culture.


What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker: A Memoir in Essays Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9780062684301
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ecco - March 26th, 2019

From the cofounder of VerySmartBrothas.com, and one of the most read writers on race and culture at work today, a provocative and humorous memoir-in-essays that explores the ever-shifting definitions of what it means to be Black (and male) in America


Staff Pick Logo
Biased: Uncovering the Hidden Prejudice That Shapes What We See, Think, and Do Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780735224933
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Viking - March 26th, 2019

"Groundbreaking."--Bryan Stevenson, New York Times bestselling author of Just Mercy

From one of the world's leading experts on unconscious racial bias, a personal examination of one of the central controversies and culturally powerful issues of our time, and its influence on contemporary race relations and criminal justice.


Wade in the Water: Poems Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781555978365
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Graywolf Press - March 26th, 2019

Shortlisted for the T. S. Eliot Prize
Finalist for the Forward Prize for Best Collection

The extraordinary new poetry collection by Tracy K. Smith, the Poet Laureate of the United States

Even the men in black armor, the ones
Jangling handcuffs and keys, what else


Julia Child: The Last Interview: and Other Conversations (The Last Interview Series) Cover Image
By Julia Child, Helen Rosner (Introduction by)
$13.59
ISBN: 9781612197333
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Melville House - March 26th, 2019

A delightful collection of interviews with the beloved Julia Child--"The French Chef," author, and television personality who revolutionized home cooking in 20th century America


I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780525436058
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - March 26th, 2019

On seventeen occasions, Maggie O’Farrell has stared death in the face—and lived to tell the tale. In this astonishing memoir, she shares the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life: The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster.


On Cussing: Bad Words and Creative Cursing Cover Image
$10.36
ISBN: 9781947793262
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Tin House Books - March 26th, 2019

F uck the Fuckity Fuckin' Fucker. Readers of Katherine Dunn won't be surprised that this was her father's favorite sentence, or that, as a young girl, she heard it as a kind of profane poem, a secret song. For many of us, the language of Geek Love carries a similar staying power, born of Dunn's agile use of language and her strange, beautiful diction.


Dig Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781101994917
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

Acclaimed master of the YA novel A.S. King's eleventh book is a surreal and searing dive into the tangled secrets of a wealthy white family in suburban Pennsylvania and the terrible cost the family's children pay to maintain the family name.


The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780525426455
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

The fierce new YA novel from Ally Condie, author of the bestselling Matched trilogy

“A compelling, serpentine journey into the heart of grief, the way it can threaten to destroy, and what it looks like to survive.” —Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes
 


Raise Your Hand Cover Image
By Alice Paul Tapper, Marta Kissi (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9781524791209
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Workshop - March 26th, 2019

11-year-old Alice Paul Tapper--daughter of CNN's Jake Tapper--is challenging girls everywhere to speak up!


You Are Light Cover Image
By Aaron Becker, Aaron Becker (Illustrator)
$12.79
ISBN: 9781536201154
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Candlewick Studio - March 26th, 2019

With a wondrously simple die-cut book, the Caldecott Honor–winning creator of the Journey trilogy brings his talents further into the light.

This is the light that brings the day.


New Arrivals 3/19/19

Desperate Paths Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781542040334
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Thomas & Mercer - March 19th, 2019

In Eden, the truth can have deadly consequences.

Brooklyn Anderson knows it looks bad. She was found wiping down a gun. Her father now dead. His blood on her hands. The incomprehensible nightmare has started.


The Parade: A novel Cover Image
$20.76
ISBN: 9780525655305
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - March 19th, 2019

From the bestselling author of The Monk of Mokha and The Circle comes a taut, suspenseful story of two foreigners' role in a nation's fragile peace.


Kushner, Inc.: Greed. Ambition. Corruption. The Extraordinary Story of Jared Kushner and Ivanka Trump Cover Image
$23.19
ISBN: 9781250185945
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 19th, 2019

The first explosive book about Javanka and their infamous rise to power


The Moth Presents Occasional Magic: True Stories About Defying the Impossible Cover Image
By Catherine Burns (Editor), Meg Wolitzer (Foreword by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781101904428
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Archetype - March 19th, 2019

From storytelling phenomenon and hit podcast The Moth—and featuring contributions from Meg Wolitzer, Adam Gopnik, Krista Tippett, Andrew Solomon, Rosanne Cash, Ophira Eisenberg, Wang Ping, and more—a new collection of unforgettable true stories about finding the strength to face the impossible, drawn from the very best ever told on its stages


The Punishment She Deserves: A Lynley Novel Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780451467867
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - March 19th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley are forced to confront the past as they try to solve a crime that threatens to tear apart the very fabric of a quiet, historic medieval town in England


A Grave in Gaza (An Omar Yussef Mystery #2) Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781616959807
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Soho Crime - March 19th, 2019

Omar Yussef must confront the dark side of Gaza—corruption, bribery, murder, and kidnapping—in his struggle to free an innocent man and honor the dead.
 


The White Card: A Play Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781555978396
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Graywolf Press - March 19th, 2019

A play about the imagined fault line between black and white lives by Claudia Rankine, the author of Citizen


Seeking Chicago: The Stories Behind the Architecture of the Windy City-One Building at a Time Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780789333872
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Universe - March 19th, 2019

Richly detailed and full of engaging stories, this charming guide traces the history of Chicago's unparalleled architecture.


Beast Rider Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781419733635
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - March 19th, 2019

Night Music Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780735228771
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dial Books - March 19th, 2019

Music has always been Ruby's first love. But has it ever loved her back?
Slip behind the scenes of the classical music world one hot, anything-can-happen, New York City summer.

"Delightful...Hits all the right notes." --Mackenzi Lee, author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue


Vassa in the Night: A Novel Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780765380555
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Teen - March 16th, 2021

“A dark, thoroughly modern fairy tale crackling with wit and magical mayhem.” —Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Shadow and Bone


I Can Only Draw Worms Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524788223
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Workshop - March 19th, 2019

A hilarious picture book in bright, neon colors that is perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures and The Day the Crayons Quit.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS