We're Open!

These are the rules of shopping at The Book Table during Covid:

  • Mask up! We will enforce this zealously, including making sure you're wearing your mask properly. Masks must be worn, and they must cover your nose, mouth, and chin at all times. If you are unable to wear a mask correctly, please use our curbside pickup service instead.
  • Use the hand sanitizer provided at the station in our entryway.
  • We request that everyone maintains 6 feet of distance between other customers and employees at all times. There will be floor markers near cash registers to help you with this, but please be mindful of this throughout the store.
  • Payment by credit/debit or contactless methods are greatly preferred. If you have a card, please use it. We will accept cash only as needed.
  • During peak hours, there may be times when we will have people wait outside to make sure there is adequate social distancing space inside.
  • We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone who doesn't follow these rules.

In aid of the enforcement of these rules, please be understanding of our staff who may need to be a little bossier than usual. We'll try to be nice, but frankly, we've all gone a little feral from these months of isolation.

Some other changes you may notice: our public restrooms will not be public for the time being. There will be no chairs in the store encouraging folks to hang out. And work stations are set up in weird places to allow our staff to socially distance from each other.

And just because we're reopening doesn't mean you have to be ready to visit us. We will continue to offer contactless curbside pickup from our back door for those who prefer it, and we will continue to ship books to anyone who isn't ready to leave the house at all.

Can't wait to see your smiling...eyes!

Curbside Pickup Now Available!

You may now select free curbside pickup at checkout! Please allow at least 24 hours for us to contact you about the availability of your purchase. Once we tell you your order is ready for pickup, head on over. While Lake Street has re-opened for traffic, we will continue to operate curbside pickup from our back door. Our back door is next to Hecho en Oak Park's back door, and opens out into the pay lot on Marion Street between Coldstone Creamery and Q-BBQ. Call us when you arrive at 708-386-9800. Please stand at least 6 feet away from the door, and someone will come with your pre-paid order and set it on a shelf outside the door. Please be respectful of our staff's safety and allow them to move back before you pick up your package.

New Arrivals 9/22/20

The Book of Two Ways: A Novel Cover Image
$26.09
ISBN: 9781984818355
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ballantine Books - September 22nd, 2020

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light comes a riveting novel about the choices that alter the course of our lives.


The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel Cover Image
$23.40
ISBN: 9781984880963
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - September 22nd, 2020

"A little beacon of pleasure in the midst of the gloom...SUCH FUN!"
--Kate Atkinson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Sky

Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
A female cop with her first big case
A brutal murder
Welcome to...
THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB


Solutions and Other Problems Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982156947
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Gallery Books - September 22nd, 2020

For the first time in seven years, Allie Brosh—beloved author and artist of the extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller Hyperbole and a Half—returns with a new collection of comedic, autobiographical, and illustrated essays.


God-Level Knowledge Darts: Life Lessons from the Bronx Cover Image
$23.40
ISBN: 9780525512332
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - September 22nd, 2020

“Desus & Mero are smarter and funnier than everyone writing books.”—Shea Serrano
“I will never write anything as hilarious as they have. I give up.”—Malcolm Gladwell
“These motherf***ers make me laugh until I choke.”—Jia Tolentino
 


Frankissstein Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9780802149398
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Grove Press - September 22nd, 2020

Since her astonishing debut at twenty-five with Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, Jeanette Winterson has achieved worldwide critical and commercial success as "one of the most daring and inventive writers of our time" (Elle).


Climate Crisis and the Global Green New Deal: The Political Economy of Saving the Planet  Cover Image
By Noam Chomsky, Robert Pollin, C.J. Polychroniou (Contributions by)
$17.06
ISBN: 9781788739856
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Verso - September 22nd, 2020

Climate change: watershed or endgame?

In this compelling new book, Noam Chomsky, the world’s leading public intellectual, and Robert Pollin, a renowned progressive economist, map out the catastrophic consequences of unchecked climate change—and present a realistic blueprint for change: the Green New Deal.


Plagued by Fire: The Dreams and Furies of Frank Lloyd Wright Cover Image
$16.20
ISBN: 9780804172882
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - September 22nd, 2020

Frank Lloyd Wright has long been known as a rank egotist who held in contempt almost everything aside from his own genius. Harder to detect, but no less real, is a Wright who fully understood, and suffered from, the choices he made.


How It All Blew Up Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780593202876
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2020

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in Arvin Ahmadi's newest incisive look at identity and what it means to find yourself by running away.


Pages & Co.: The Map of Stories Cover Image
By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$15.29
ISBN: 9781984837325
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Philomel Books - September 22nd, 2020

The third magical bookwandering adventure in the nationally bestselling Pages & Co. series, featuring Tilly Pages as she journeys to Washington, DC, to wander inside the books at the Library of Congress. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and The Land of Stories.


Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (A Tristan Strong Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
$8.09
ISBN: 9781368042413
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 22nd, 2020

Winner of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Kwame Mbalia's epic fantasy, a middle grade American Gods set in a richly-imagined world populated with African American folk heroes and West African gods.


She Persisted in Sports: American Olympians Who Changed the Game Cover Image
By Chelsea Clinton, Alexandra Boiger (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9780593114544
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Philomel Books - September 22nd, 2020

From Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger, the #1 New York Times bestselling team behind She Persisted, comes a new book featuring women athletes who overcame and inspired--just in time for the Olympics!


No Voice Too Small: Fourteen Young Americans Making History Cover Image
By Lindsay H. Metcalf (Editor), Keila V. Dawson (Editor), Jeanette Bradley (Editor), Jeanette Bradley (Illustrator)
$17.09
ISBN: 9781623541316
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Charlesbridge - September 22nd, 2020

Fans of We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices will love meeting fourteen young activists who have stepped up to make change in their community and the United States.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS