New Arrivals 10/15/19

 

Olive, Again: A Novel Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780812996548
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - October 15th, 2019

#1 New York Times bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout continues the life of her beloved Olive Kitteridge, a character who has captured the imaginations of millions.


The Guardians: A Novel Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9780385544184
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Doubleday - October 15th, 2019

John Grisham delivers a classic legal thriller–-with a twist.


Me: Elton John Official Autobiography Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781250147608
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - October 15th, 2019

In his first and only official autobiography, music icon Elton John reveals the truth about his extraordinary life, from his rollercoaster lifestyle as shown in the film Rocketman, to becoming a living legend.


Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780316486637
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 15th, 2019

In a dramatic account of violence and espionage, Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter Ronan Farrow exposes serial abusers and a cabal of powerful interests hell-bent on covering up the truth, at any cost.


The Body: A Guide for Occupants Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780385539302
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Doubleday - October 15th, 2019

Bill Bryson, bestselling author of A Short History of Nearly Everything, takes us on a head-to-toe tour of the marvel that is the human body. As addictive as it is comprehensive, this is Bryson at his very best, a must-read owner's manual for everybody.


No Stopping Us Now: The Adventures of Older Women in American History Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780316286541
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 15th, 2019

A lively, fascinating, eye-opening look at women and aging in America, by the beloved New York Times columnist.


Unsheltered: A Novel Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062684738
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Perennial - October 15th, 2019

New York Times bestseller

An NPR pick for Best Books of 2018

An O, The Oprah Magazine's Best Book of 2018

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2018

One of Christian Science Monitor's best fiction reads of 2018


Churchill: Walking with Destiny Cover Image
$19.20
ISBN: 9781101981009
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - October 15th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One of The Wall Street Journal’s Ten Best Books of 2018
One of The Economist’s Best Books of 2018
One of The New York Timess Notable Books of 2018


Vietnam: An Epic Tragedy, 1945-1975 Cover Image
$18.39
ISBN: 9780062405678
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Perennial - October 15th, 2019

An absorbing and definitive modern history of the Vietnam War from the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of The Secret War.


Everything's Trash, But It's Okay Cover Image
By Phoebe Robinson, Ilana Glazer (Foreword by)
$12.80
ISBN: 9780525534167
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Plume - October 15th, 2019

New York Times bestselling author and star of 2 Dope Queens Phoebe Robinson is back with a new, hilarious, and timely essay collection on gender, race, dating, and the dumpster fire that is our world.


Jackpot Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781984829627
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Dear Martin--which Angie Thomas, the bestselling author of The Hate U Give, called "a must read"--comes a pitch-perfect romance that examines class, privilege, and how a stroke of good luck can change an entire life.


Allies Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781338245721
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Scholastic Press - October 15th, 2019

Alan Gratz, bestselling author of Refugee, weaves a stunning array of voices and stories into an epic tale of teamwork in the face of tyranny -- and how just one day can change the world.


The Crayons' Christmas Cover Image
By Drew Daywalt, Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780525515746
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 15th, 2019

A brand-new Crayons book from the #1 New York Times best-selling duo Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers, just in time for the holidays. This special book has letters, games, ornaments, a poster, and even a pop-up Christmas tree!


Grumpy Monkey Party Time! Cover Image
By Suzanne Lang, Max Lang (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780593118627
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

Everyone's favorite New York Times bestselling Grumpy Monkey is back in this hilarious sequel about managing social anxiety and listening to your needs!


New Arrivals 10/8/19

Grand Union: Stories Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780525558996
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Press - October 8th, 2019

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal! 

A dazzling collection of short fiction


The Giver of Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780399562488
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - October 8th, 2019

“With characters so real they feel like dear friends and a compelling storyline, this is a beautiful, special novel. I loved it and didn’t want it to end!”  
—Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies
 
“A captivating tale of love, friendship, and self-actualization.”


Welcoming the Unwelcome: Wholehearted Living in a Brokenhearted World Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781611805659
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Shambhala - October 8th, 2019

From the bestselling author of When Things Fall Apart, an open-hearted call for human connection, compassion, and learning to love the world just as it is during these most challenging times.


Wham!, George Michael and Me: A Memoir Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781524745318
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Dutton - October 8th, 2019

For the first time, Andrew Ridgeley—one half of one of the most famous bands in the world—tells the inside story of Wham!, his lifelong friendship with George Michael, and the formation of a band that changed the shape of the music scene in the early eighties. 
 


Redemption (Memory Man series #5) Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781538761458
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 8th, 2019

Detective Amos Decker discovers that a mistake he made as a rookie detective may have led to deadly consequences in this compelling Memory Man thriller by #1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci.


The Cockroach Cover Image
$8.80
ISBN: 9780593082423
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Anchor - October 8th, 2019

A brilliant, of-the-moment political satire like no other: here is Ian McEwan's Brexit-era take on Kafka's Metamorphosis, centered on a cockroach transformed into the prime minister of England. An Anchor Original.

That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a giant creature.


Feminasty: The Complicated Woman's Guide to Surviving the Patriarchy Without Drinking Herself to Death Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781455571871
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 8th, 2019

From the wickedly funny and feminist creator and host of the "Throwing Shade" podcast, a collection of hilarious personal essays and political commentary perfect for fans of Lindy West and Roxane Gay.


What If This Were Enough? Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780525434962
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Anchor - October 8th, 2019

*A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2018*
*A Bustle Best Nonfiction Book of 2018*
*One of Chicago Tribune's Favorite Books by Women in 2018*
*A Self Best Book of 2018 to Buy for the Bookworm in Your Life*


Girls of Paper and Fire Cover Image
By Natasha Ngan, James Patterson (Foreword by)
$8.79
ISBN: 9780316561358
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: jimmy patterson - October 8th, 2019

Uncover a riveting story of palace intrigue set in a sumptuous Asian-inspired fantasy world in the breakout YA novel that Publisher's Weekly calls "elegant and adrenaline-soaked."

*A New York Times Bestseller*
*#1 on the Indie Next Kid's List*
*Goodreads Best Books of November*


Skyward Cover Image
$9.59
ISBN: 9780399555800
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ember - October 8th, 2019

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reckoners series, Words of Radiance, and the Mistborn trilogy comes the first book in an epic new series about a girl who dreams of becoming a pilot in a dangerous world at war for humanity's future.


Mama Mable's All-Gal Big Band Jazz Extravaganza! Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781524718084
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Make Me a World - October 8th, 2019

Debut author-illustrator Annie Sieg takes young readers on an inspiring trip to the music halls of the 1940s, when groups of young female musicians broke racial and gender barriers--and forever changed the face of jazz.


Astro Kittens: Into The Unknown Cover Image
By Dr. Dominic Walliman, Ben Newman (Illustrator)
$7.19
ISBN: 9781912497270
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Flying Eye Books - October 8th, 2019

Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take off on your first space adventure? Join Professor Astro Cat as we head Into the Unknown, in an adventure for pre-K age kids to spark their interest in science!


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS