An Evening with Alex Kotlowitz

Event date: 

Monday, March 4, 2019 - 7:00pm

Please join us for a special pre-release event with the New York Times Bestselling author of There Are No Children Here, Alex Kotlowitz. In An American Summer: Love and Death in Chicago--his first new book in over a decade--Kotlowitz addresses violence in Chicago head-on.

Event address: 

Dominican University Performing Arts Center
7900 W Division
River Forest, IL 60305

New Arrivals 1/15/19

The Dreamers: A Novel Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780812994162
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - January 15th, 2019

An ordinary town is transformed by a mysterious illness that triggers perpetual sleep in this mesmerizing novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Age of Miracles.

“This book is stunning.”—Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven


Annelies: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780399162589
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Viking - January 15th, 2019

A powerful and deeply humane new novel that asks the question: What if Anne Frank survived the Holocaust?


Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781524732714
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - January 15th, 2019

“A gripping genetic detective story, and a meditation on the meaning of parenthood and family.” —Jennifer Egan, author of Manhattan Beach 
 


The Age of Surveillance Capitalism: The Fight for a Human Future at the New Frontier of Power Cover Image
$30.40
ISBN: 9781610395694
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: PublicAffairs - January 15th, 2019

The challenges to humanity posed by the digital future, the first detailed examination of the unprecedented form of power called "surveillance capitalism," and the quest by powerful corporations to predict and control our behavior.


Love and Ruin: A Novel Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9781101967393
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ballantine Books - January 15th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The bestselling author of The Paris Wife brings to life the story of Martha Gellhorn—a fiercely independent, ambitious woman ahead of her time, who would become one of the greatest war correspondents of the twentieth century.


Staff Pick Logo
The Orphan of Salt Winds Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781947793224
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Tin House Books - January 15th, 2019

England, 1939. Ten-year-old Virginia Wrathmell arrives at Salt Winds, a secluded house on the edge of a marsh, to meet her adoptive parents--practical, dependable Clem and glamorous, mercurial Lorna. The marsh, with its deceptive tides, is a beautiful but threatening place.


Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780143111382
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - January 15th, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018
ONE OF THE ECONOMIST'S BOOKS OF THE YEAR

"My new favorite book of all time." --Bill Gates


No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters Cover Image
By Ursula K. Le Guin, Karen Joy Fowler (Introduction by)
$11.99
ISBN: 9781328507976
Availability: Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.
Published: Mariner Books - January 15th, 2019

Ursula K. Le Guin on the absurdity of denying your age: “If I’m ninety and believe I’m forty-five, I’m headed for a very bad time trying to get out of the bathtub.”

On cultural perceptions of fantasy: “The direction of escape is toward freedom.


Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399547614
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What


Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399547614
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What


96 Words for Love Cover Image
By Rachel Roy, Ava Dash, James Patterson (Foreword by)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780316477789
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: jimmy patterson - January 15th, 2019

James Patterson Presents a modern retelling of a classic Indian legend, 96 Words for Love is a touching coming-of-age story that reads like Eat, Pray, Love for teens.

Ever since her acceptance to UCLA, 17-year-old Raya Liston has been quietly freaking out. She feels simultaneously lost and trapped by a future already mapped out for her.


Dragon Pearl Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781368013352
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 15th, 2019

Rick Riordan Presents Yoon Ha Lee's space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you'd never know it by looking at her. To keep the family safe, Min's mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting. They must appear human at all times.


The Whispers Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780525517498
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

A middle grade debut that's a heartrending coming-of-age tale, perfect for fans of Bridge to Terabithia and Counting By 7s.


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS