New Arrivals 9/4/18

Lake Success: A Novel Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780812997415
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House - September 4th, 2018

“Spectacular.”—NPR • “Uproariously funny.”—The Boston Globe • “An artistic triumph.”—San Francisco Chronicle • “A novel in which comedy and pathos are exquisitely balanced.”—The Washington Post • “Shteyngart’s best book.”—The


The Silence of the Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$22.36
ISBN: 9780385544214
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Doubleday - September 4th, 2018

One of Vanity Fair's Best Fall Books of 2018

"An important, powerful, memorable book that invites us to look differently not only at The Iliad but at our own ways of telling stories about the past and the present."
--Emily Wilson, translator of The Odyssey


21 Lessons for the 21st Century Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780525512172
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Spiegel & Grau - September 4th, 2018

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In Sapiens, he explored our past. In Homo Deus, he looked to our future. Now, one of the most innovative thinkers on the planet turns to the present to make sense of today’s most pressing issues.


The Class: A Life-Changing Teacher, His World-Changing Kids, and the Most Inventive Classroom in America Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780399181849
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ballantine Books - September 4th, 2018

An unforgettable year in the life of a visionary high school science teacher and his award-winning students, as they try to get into college, land a date for the prom . . . and possibly change the world


Uncommon Type Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781101911945
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - September 4th, 2018

One of the Best Books of the Year: NPR, USA Today

National Bestseller


Home Fire: A Novel Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780735217690
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Riverhead Books - September 4th, 2018

“Ingenious… Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I’ve read in a novel this century.” —The New York Times

WINNER OF THE 2018 WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION


LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE


Becoming Bodhisattvas: A Guidebook for Compassionate Action Cover Image
$18.36
ISBN: 9781611806328
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Shambhala - September 4th, 2018

Best-selling American Buddhist nun Pema Chödrön presents a friendly and encouraging guide to spiritual practice for all those who want to take up the path of the bodhisattva--one who aspires to live life with courage, generosity, patience, fearlessness, and compassion.


Sticky Fingers: The Life and Times of Jann Wenner and Rolling Stone Magazine Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9781101872789
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Vintage - September 4th, 2018

A New York Times Top 10 Book of the Year (Dwight Garner)
A New York Times Top 10 Book of the Year (Janet Maslin)
A New York Magazine Top 10 Book of the Year 
A USA Today Top 10 Book We Loved Reading in 2017
An Amazon Top 100 Book of 2017 
An Amazon Best Biography of 2017 


Turning Pages: My Life Story Cover Image
By Sonia Sotomayor, Lulu Delacre (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780525514084
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Philomel Books - September 4th, 2018

Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor tells her own story for young readers for the very first time!


Dr. Seuss's You Are Kind: Featuring Horton the Elephant (Classic Seuss) Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780525582151
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

The perfect little gift book for kind people of all ages! (An ideal choice instead of a card!)


We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices Cover Image
By Wade Hudson (Editor), Cheryl Willis Hudson (Editor)
$15.19
ISBN: 9780525580423
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

Fifty of the foremost diverse children's authors and illustrators--including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander--share answers to the question, "In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?" in this beautiful, full-color keepsake collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.


Baby 101: Architecture for Babies Cover Image
By Jonathan Litton, Thomas Elliott (Illustrator)
$7.19
ISBN: 9780525648802
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Doubleday Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

It's never too early to get an A+ in architecture! Here's a fun new board book series that introduces a wide array of nonfiction subjects to babies and toddlers.


New Arrivals 8/28/18

The Swing of Things Cover Image
$11.96
ISBN: 9781503937000
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Lake Union Publishing - August 28th, 2018

"Somewhere between Tom Perrotta and Erica Jong lies The Swing of Things, a charming, sexy, and surprisingly tender romp through the dark side of wish fulfillment. I'll never look at the other playground parents the same way again." --Marcus Sakey


French Exit: A Novel Cover Image
$20.79
ISBN: 9780062846921
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Ecco - August 28th, 2018

National Bestseller

A Recommended Book of the Season from
Vanity Fair * Entertainment Weekly * Vulture * The Millions * Publishers Weekly * Esquire * USA Today * Parade


Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World Cover Image
$21.56
ISBN: 9780451493248
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - August 28th, 2018

An insider's groundbreaking investigation of how the global elite's efforts to "change the world" preserve the status quo and obscure their role in causing the problems they later seek to solve.


Creativity Takes Courage: Dare to Think Differently (Flow) Cover Image
$17.56
ISBN: 9781523503551
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Workman Publishing Company - August 21st, 2018

It’s not always easy to be creative—to give our minds space to roam while ignoring our inner critic, to stare down a blank page and make the leap from nothing to anything. It takes courage.
    Finding the courage to create is something the editors of Flow know a lot about.


Nightflyers: The Illustrated Edition Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780525620891
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Bantam - August 28th, 2018

Soon to be an original series on SYFY, a gorgeous illustrated edition of a classic novella from the #1 bestselling author of A Game of Thrones—a chilling mystery set on a seemingly haunted spaceship.
 


Not Quite Not White: Losing and Finding Race in America Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780143131380
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - August 28th, 2018

"Captivating... [a] heartfelt account of how newcomers carve a space for themselves in the melting pot of America."
--Publishers Weekly

A first-generation immigrant's "intimate, passionate look at race in America" (Viet Thanh Nguyen), an American's journey into the heart of not-whiteness.


Staff Pick Logo
Seafire Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780451478801
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Razorbill - August 28th, 2018

A warlord killed Caledonia's parents and kidnapped her brother. Now, on the deadly Bullet seas, Captain Caledonia Styx and her all-female crew are ready for revenge.

"This is Mad Max by way of Davy Jones, a high-energy, breathless adventure [about] a group of damaged girls who find home in one another." --Booklist


Harbor Me Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780399252525
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2018

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Jacqueline Woodson's first middle-grade novel since National Book Award winner Brown Girl Dreaming celebrates the healing that can occur when a group of students share their stories.


Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: Bad to the Bones (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal #3) Cover Image
$10.39
ISBN: 9780385388412
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 28th, 2018

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes book three in the laugh-out-loud graphic novel series about cave kid siblings Lucy and Andy. Fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and The Terrible Two won't want to miss it!


The Day You Begin Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$15.19
ISBN: 9780399246531
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2018

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!


Pages

Subscribe to The Book Table RSS