The Cruelest Month: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Cruelest Month: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel By Louise Penny Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $16.19
(Save: $1.80 10%)
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Jan 31 8:03pm

Staff Reviews


Though I do like a good traditional English mystery in the vein of
Agatha Christie, I don't really consider myself a reader of the "cozy"
subset of the genre. This series, however, really stands out from the
rest. They take place in a tiny village in Quebec, and the eccentric
characters and local color are exceptionally well-drawn. The mysteries
themselves are perfectly plotted with plenty of texture and nuance.
Louise Penny has swept up numerous awards for this series, and it
becomes clear pretty quickly why. My only complaint would be that she
gets a bit too sentimental for me at times, but the writing is good
enough that I give her a pass.

(Note: I am normally not a stickler for this, but here I must insist
that you read these books in order. There are continuing story lines
that are just as suspenseful as the primary mystery, and you do not want
to ruin them for yourself.)

— Rachel

Description


Read the series that inspired Three Pines on Prime Video.

The Cruelest Month is the third book in Louise Penny's award winning Three Pines mystery series featuring the wise and beleaguered Inspector Armand Gamache.

"Many mystery buffs have credited Louise Penny with the revival of the type of traditional murder mystery made famous by Agatha Christie ... " -Sarah Weinman

Welcome to Three Pines, where the cruelest month is about to deliver on its threat.

It's spring in the tiny, forgotten village; buds are on the trees and the first flowers are struggling through the newly thawed earth. But not everything is meant to return to life. . .

When some villagers decide to celebrate Easter with a séance at the Old Hadley House, they are hoping to rid the town of its evil---until one of their party dies of fright. Was this a natural death, or was the victim somehow helped along?

Brilliant, compassionate Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec is called to investigate, in a case that will force him to face his own ghosts as well as those of a seemingly idyllic town where relationships are far more dangerous than they seem.

About the Author


LOUISE PENNY is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Globe and Mail bestselling series of Chief Inspector Armand Gamache novels, and coauthor with Hillary Rodham Clinton of the #1 New York Times bestselling thriller State of Terror. She has won numerous awards, including a CWA Dagger and the Agatha Award (eight times), and was a finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Novel. In 2017, she received the Order of Canada for her contributions to Canadian culture. Louise lives in a small village south of Montréal.

Praise For…


Gamache is a prodigiously complicated and engaging hero, destined to become one of the classic detectives.
---Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

The cozy mystery has a graceful practitioner in Louise Penny.
---The New York Times Book Review

Dont look for the hamlet of Three Pines anywhere on a map . . . although Louise Penny has made the town and its residents so real . . . that you might just try to find it.
---The Chicago Tribune

[A Fatal Grace] is not the usual cosy or even a traditional puzzle mystery. Its a finely written, intelligent, and observant book.
---The Houston Chronicle

A remarkable new writer . . . Louise Penny arrives with flair, humanity, and intrigue in her debut novel, Still Life. . . . Elegant writing alone would not carry this remarkable book; Penny also creates a puzzle worthy of the masters. But more important, she studies issues of good and evil, of human nature, of human kindness, and human cruelty.
---The Richmond Times-Dispatch

This cerebral mystery . . . is a rare treat.
---People on Still Life



Product Details
ISBN: 9780312573508
ISBN-10: 0312573502
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: April 12th, 2011
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Chief Inspector Gamache Novel