The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution (Paperback)

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution Cover Image
List Price: $24.95
Our Price: $19.96
(Save: $4.99 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 16 7:01pm

Description


The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the chilling true story of an enormous Moscow apartment building where Soviet leaders and their families lived until hundreds of these Bolshevik true believers were led, one by one, to prison or to their deaths in Stalin's purges. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews with survivors, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, this epic story weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

About the Author


Yuri Slezkine is the Jane K. Sather Professor of History at the University of California, Berkeley. His books include The Jewish Century (Princeton), which won the National Jewish Book Award.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780691192727
ISBN-10: 0691192723
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Publication Date: June 18th, 2019
Pages: 1128
Language: English