Kingdom of Ash and Briars: A Nissera Novel (The Nissera Chronicles #1) (Paperback)

Kingdom of Ash and Briars: A Nissera Novel (The Nissera Chronicles #1) Cover Image
List Price: $9.99
Our Price: $7.99
(Save: $2.00 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 12 2:15pm

Description


A stunning fantasy inspired by familiar fairytales, complete with cursed princesses, thieves-turned-soldiers, and an orphan girl transformed into an immortal, shapeshifting heroine. The Nissera Chronicles start here . . .

“One of the best books I've ever read.”—C.J. Redwine, New York Times best-selling author of The Shadow Queen

* “A world both terrifying and wonderful.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Welcome to Nissera, land of three kingdoms and home to spectacular magic.

Bristal, a sixteen-year-old kitchen maid, finds herself in a gritty fairy tale gone wrong when she discovers she has elicromancer magic in her blood. Elicromancers are an ancient breed of immortal people, but only two remain in Nissera after a bloody civil war. Bristal joins their ranks without knowing that one of them has a dark secret . . . Tamarice is plotting a quest to overthrow the realm's nobility and take charge herself. Together, Bristal and Brack must guard the three kingdoms of Nissera against Tamarice's black elicromancy. There are princesses to protect, royal alliances to forge, and fierce monsters to battle—all with the hope of preserving peace.

With clever homages to Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and the Chinese legend of Hua Mulan, Hannah West makes a fast-paced, exciting, and wholly original debut. The Nissera Chronicles continue with Fields of Fire, a short story set against the events of Kingdom of Ash and Briars, and Realm of Ruins, a gripping companion novel.

Paperback edition includes Fields of Fire, an illustrated map of Nissera, and a dazzling metallic foil cover.

About the Author


HANNAH WEST'S debut novel, Kingdom of Ash and Briars, received a starred review from Kirkus Reviews and was named one of their Best Teen Books of 2016. Inspired by fairy tale castles and snowy winter days, Hannah began writing the book as a college junior studying abroad in France. Realm of Ruins is her second novel. She lives in Texas with her husband, Vince, and their rambunctious blue heeler. Visit her on Twitter @hannahwestya.

Praise For…


* "West mixes fairy-tale charm with contemporary mysticism to create a world both terrifying and wonderful." —Kirkus (starred review)

"Classically crafted high fantasy - a call to love, a call to power, a crown at stake, a family at war - where magic runs through every word. Fans of The Shannara Chronicles or The Grisha Trilogy, look no further." Margaret Stohl, #1 New York Time's best selling author of the Beautiful Creatures novels

"Brilliant, fascinating, and utterly impossible to put down. Hannah West makes a triumphant entry into the world of fairy tale retellings with one of the best books I've ever read." C.J. Redwine, New York Time's best selling author of The Shadow Queen


"Like Cashore and McKinley, Nix and Novak, Hannah West has crafted a tale both fresh and familiara fantasy epic lush in detail and breathlessly enchanting, with an indomitable heroine at its heart." Claire Legrand, author of Winterspell    
Product Details
ISBN: 9780823440054
ISBN-10: 0823440052
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: The Nissera Chronicles