Before They Were Authors: Famous Writers as Kids (Hardcover)

Before They Were Authors: Famous Writers as Kids Cover Image
List Price: $16.99
Our Price: $13.59
(Save: $3.40 20%)
Not in Stock. Estimated Order Time 1-5 days.

Description


This exciting debut in graphic novel format tells the childhood stories of literary legends including Maya Angelou, Roald Dahl, and Sandra Cisnernos. Perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World.

What makes a writer?  What inspires them? Where do their stories come from? Striking illustrations and a popular graphic novel format bring to life this anthology of literary legends and their childhoods. Featuring beloved authors such as Maya Angelou, C.S. Lewis, Gene Luen Yang and J.K. Rowling, these stories capture the childhood triumphs, failures, and inspirations that predated their careers.

Children ages ten and up will see themselves in these humanized portraits and wonder if they, too, might have it in them to write. A celebration of creativity, this collective graphic biography is sprinkled throughout with writing wisdom and inspiring quotes.

About the Author


Elizabeth Haidle is the co-founder of Mascot Press, creating thought-provoking comics and animations. She has an incurable passion for illustrated biographies and low-maintenance gardening. Her first book, at age 13, was about a grumpy elf with a pet snail. Bill Peet is her favorite children's book author. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

www.DocuComix.com
Twitter: @ehaidle
Instagram: @ehaidle

Praise For…


"[A] pleasing design aesthetic, and myriad details invite prolonged perusing." —Publishers Weekly

"[F]ans of classic children’s literature will enjoy this reverential and playful volume."—Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781328801531
ISBN-10: 1328801535
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 64