City of Ghosts (Hardcover)

City of Ghosts By Victoria Schwab, V. E. Schwab Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $16.19
(Save: $1.80 10%)
Not in stock. Usually arrives in 2-7 business days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the City of Ghosts series.

Description


From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

A New York Times bestseller!Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself.And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.#1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).

About the Author


V.E. Schwab is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty novels for readers of all ages, including the City of Ghosts series, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, Gallant, and the Shades of Magic series. Her books have garnered critical acclaim and have been featured in the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, the Washington Post, and on NPR; have been translated into more than a dozen languages; and have been optioned for television and film. She lives in Edinburgh,Scotland. Visit her online at veschwab.com.

Praise For…


Praise for City of Ghosts:"Spine tingling and page-turning, perfectly blending humor, heart, and adventure . . . I loved it!" -- Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The False Prince"This book has it all -- a ghost for a best friend, a city brimming with magic, and a brave girl discovering her strange power. A thrilling and chilling mystery that will have you counting the days until Cass's next adventure." -- Zoraida Cordova, author of the Brooklyn Brujas series* "This atmospheric ghost story from Schwab (the Monsters of Verity duology) chills and charms while challenging readers to face their fears. Courageous, quick-witted Cassidy inspires, her relationship with Jacob is tender, and the thrilling conclusion is sure to gratify." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review"Begs to be read in the dark of night." -- Kirkus Reviews"Schwab paints an eerie portrait of haunted locales and her descriptions of the various ghosts and their terrible ends will send shivers down even the bravest readers' spines. . . This fast-paced, spooky ghost story filled with international adventure is sure to please horror enthusiasts and armchair travelers." School Library Journal"Readers craving a spooky story that won't terrorize their dreams will do well with this. Genuine frights are offset by Cass' rapport with Jacob, which injects a steady stream of humor into the spirited, mysterious narrative. A polished, fastpaced read, sure to be popular. . . Schwab's YA fantasies are regularly best-sellers, and this has every reason to follow suit." -- BooklistPraise for This Savage Song:* "There are no wasted words here, and the end result is a darkly precise narrative that feels like a shiver down the spine... this taut creation about the nature of humanity lingers long after its disquieting finale." -- Booklist, starred review"Schwab's latest seems poised to grab both her adult and teen readers; the world is fascinating... the characters complicated, and the political machinations and emotional depths both charged and compelling... Crackling with energy, just the ticket for an all-night read." -- Kirkus Reviews"Schwab explores the natures of justice and humanity in an assuredly built world with a compelling settings and an intriguing music-based magic. And in August and his Sunai siblings, she introduces a type of monster both sympathetic and terrifying. A cliffhanger ending promises a sequel." -- The Horn Book"Kate and August both undergo an i