A Trick of the Light (Chief Inspector Gamache Novels) (Large Print / Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
A Trick of the Light (Chief Inspector Gamache Novels) By Louise Penny Cover Image
$37.94
Not in stock. Usually arrives in 2-7 business days

Staff Reviews


Though I do like a good traditional English mystery in the vein of
Agatha Christie, I don't really consider myself a reader of the "cozy"
subset of the genre. This series, however, really stands out from the
rest. They take place in a tiny village in Quebec, and the eccentric
characters and local color are exceptionally well-drawn. The mysteries
themselves are perfectly plotted with plenty of texture and nuance.
Louise Penny has swept up numerous awards for this series, and it
becomes clear pretty quickly why. My only complaint would be that she
gets a bit too sentimental for me at times, but the writing is good
enough that I give her a pass.

(Note: I am normally not a stickler for this, but here I must insist
that you read these books in order. There are continuing story lines
that are just as suspenseful as the primary mystery, and you do not want
to ruin them for yourself.)

— Rachel

September 2011 Indie Next List


“I love character-driven suspense novels with a strong sense of place, and Penny's series featuring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and set in the magical world of Three Pines, Quebec, fits that bill. In A Trick of the Light, artist Clara Morrow's celebration of her first major exhibition in Montreal is followed by the discovery of a murdered woman's body in her garden. The subtle shadings of Penny's characters and the twists of the plot make this tale a work of art in its own right. Highly recommended!”
— Carol Schneck, Schuler Books & Music, Okemos, MI

Description


""Penny has been compared to Agatha Christie but] it sells her short. Her characters are too rich, her grasp of nuance and human psychology too firm...." --"Booklist "(starred review)
""Hearts are broken," Lillian Dyson carefully underlined in a book. "Sweet relationships are dead."
But now Lillian herself is dead. Found among the bleeding hearts and lilacs of Clara Morrow's garden in Three Pines, shattering the celebrations of Clara's solo show at the famed Musee in Montreal. Chief Inspector Gamache, the head of homicide at the Surete du Quebec, is called to the tiny Quebec village and there he finds the art world gathered, and with it a world of shading and nuance, a world of shadow and light. Where nothing is as it seems. Behind every smile there lurks a sneer. Inside every sweet relationship there hides a broken heart. And even when facts are slowly exposed, it is no longer clear to Gamache and his team if what they've found is the truth, or simply a trick of the light.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781410441072
ISBN-10: 1410441075
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: September 7th, 2011
Pages: 615
Language: English
Series: Chief Inspector Gamache Novels