New Arrivals 1/29/19

Body: 

We Cast a Shadow: A Novel Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780525509066
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: One World - January 29th, 2019

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white


Golden Child: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780525572992
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: SJP for Hogarth - January 29th, 2019

A new novel from Sarah Jessica Parker’s imprint, SJP for Hogarth: a deeply affecting debut novel set in Trinidad, following the lives of a family as they navigate impossible choices about scarcity, loyalty, and love


Team of Vipers: My 500 Extraordinary Days in the Trump White House Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781250223890
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - January 29th, 2019

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Sims’s vivid portrait of Trump shrewdly balances admiration with misgivings, and his intricate, engrossing accounts of White House vendettas and power plays have a good mix of immersion and perspective. The result is one of the best of the recent flood of Trump tell-alls." —Publishers Weekly


The Orchid and the Dandelion: Why Some Children Struggle and How All Can Thrive Cover Image
$22.36
ISBN: 9781101946565
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - January 29th, 2019

"Based on groundbreaking research that has the power to change the lives of countless children--and the adults who love them."
--Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts.

A book that offers hope and a pathway to success for parents, teachers, psychologists, and child development experts coping with difficult children.


Virginia Woolf in Manhattan Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781909572102
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Fentum Press - February 5th, 2019

"I have been dragged through time, summoned like a book requisitioned from a distant library," says Virginia Woolf, "resurrected" by modern-day author, Angela Lamb, working on Woolf manuscripts in the New York Public Library's Berg collection.


My Name Is Nathan Lucius Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781616959784
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Soho Crime - January 29th, 2019

How far would you go for your best friend? If she begged you to, would you kill her?


Fascism: A Warning Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062802200
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Harper Perennial - January 29th, 2019

#1 New York Times Bestseller

Best Books of 2018 --The Economist

A personal and urgent examination of Fascism in the twentieth century and how its legacy shapes today’s world, written by one of America’s most admired public servants, the first woman to serve as U.S. secretary of state


Reclaiming Our Space: How Black Feminists Are Changing the World from the Tweets to the Streets Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9780807055373
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Beacon Press - January 29th, 2019

A treatise of Black women’s transformative influence in media and society, placing them front and center in a new chapter of mainstream resistance and political engagement


Yugen Cover Image
By Ed Young (Illustrator), Mark Reibstein
$14.36
ISBN: 9781609808655
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Triangle Square - January 29th, 2019

Told in haiku-based American Sentences and pictures, Yugen is the story of a boy and his mother, inspired by the profound concept of "yugen," a Japanese word for the mystery and beauty of the universe and of human experience.


STEM Lab Cover Image
By Jack Challoner, Smithsonian Institution (Contributions by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781465475619
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: DK Children - January 29th, 2019

From building a suspension bridge and crafting an automaton to making a guitar and creating a bubble tower, Smithsonian: STEM Lab is packed with activities that young readers can do at home to explore, discover, and understand the way the world works.