New Arrivals 5/14/19

Body: 

Disappearing Earth: A novel Cover Image
$21.56
ISBN: 9780525520412
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

"Splendidly imagined . . . Thrilling" --Simon Winchester

"A genuine masterpiece" --Gary Shteyngart

Spellbinding, moving--evoking a fascinating region on the other side of the world--this suspenseful and haunting story announces the debut of a profoundly gifted writer.


Orange World and Other Stories Cover Image
$20.76
ISBN: 9780525656135
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

From the Pulitzer Finalist and universally beloved author of the New York Times best sellers Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove, a stunning new collection of short fiction that showcases Karen Russell’s extraordinary, irresistible gifts of language and imagination.
 


Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524733537
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.”
 --Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.


The British Are Coming: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 (The Revolution Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$31.99
ISBN: 9781627790437
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - May 14th, 2019

From the bestselling author of the Liberation Trilogy comes the extraordinary first volume of his new trilogy about the American Revolution


An Unwanted Guest: A Novel Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780525557647
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 14th, 2019

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

The twisty new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door and A Stranger in the House

A weekend retreat at a cozy mountain lodge is supposed to be the perfect getaway . . . but when the storm hits, no one is getting away


The Rosie Result Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781925773828
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Text Publishing Company - May 28th, 2019

Don and Rosie are about to face their most important project.


How to Change Your Mind: What the New Science of Psychedelics Teaches Us About Consciousness, Dying, Addiction, Depression, and Transcendence Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780735224155
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Penguin Books - May 14th, 2019

New York Times Book Review 10 Best Books of 2018

A New York Times Notable Book 

The #1 New York Times bestseller.


Never a City So Real: A Walk in Chicago (Chicago Visions and Revisions) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780226619019
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: University of Chicago Press - May 16th, 2019

“Chicago is a tale of two cities,” headlines declare. This narrative has been gaining steam alongside reports of growing economic divisions and diverging outlooks on the future of the city. Yet to keen observers of the Second City, this is nothing new.


Stepsister Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781338268461
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Scholastic Press - May 14th, 2019

* "Printz Honor winner Donnelly offers up a stunningly focused story that rips
into the heart of familiar fairy tale. Isabelle [is] a shattered but not unreedemable girl with a warrior's heart." -- Booklist, starred review


Don't just fracture the fairy tale. Shatter it.


Me and Sam-Sam Handle the Apocalypse Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781534425019
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - May 14th, 2019

“Edgar-winning Vaught, a neuropsychologist, has both personal and professional experience to draw on in crafting a narrator who is admirably smart and resilient despite an ‘itchy’ brain and a compulsion to count things.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Deeply smart and considerate.” —BCCB

“An absorbing


Hair Love Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780525553366
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Kokila - May 14th, 2019

"I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this."
     - Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker


My Papi Has a Motorcycle Cover Image
By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780525553410
Availability: In Stock (but it is always wise to call ahead to confirm!)
Published: Kokila - May 14th, 2019

A celebration of the love between a father and daughter, and of a vibrant immigrant neighborhood, by an award-winning author and illustrator duo.

When Daisy Ramona zooms around her neighborhood with her papi on his motorcycle, she sees the people and places she's always known. She also sees a community that is rapidly changing around her.